The King (Black Dagger Brotherhood #12)

/

Like the Black Dagger Brotherhood books that came before it, I devoured The King in a few days. I can never seem to put J.R. Ward’s books down, case in point, last night I stayed up until 4 am after hours of telling myself “just one more chapter.”

The King is of course about Wrath, the blind King and his wife/queen/shellan Beth. The Band of Bastards are still after his throne and have worked through legal means to see Wrath removed. He’s also at odds with Beth when she announces she wants a baby, something Wrath has always been adamant would not be a part of his future. Through flashbacks we also learn about Wraths father and mothers life prior to his birth and the struggles they went through in court.

We also get a peak into the relationships between Sola and Assail, Trez and Selena and the relationship I love to hate Xcor and Layla.

Their wasn’t too much action in this BDB instalment. There was a harrowing escape involving Sola and Assail but most of the ‘action’ involved relationships, instead of fighting lessers and other threats in the street.

There were some cringeworthy references to pop culture figures like Kanye West, Taylor Swift and I think like two or three Miley Cyrus references in the beginning of the book, but once I got past that I enjoyed it thoroughly. Like the Anita Blake and Mercy Thompson series, whenever I read a BDB book I feel like I’m checking in on friends that I’ve know forever.

I still really, really, really want another book about Zsadist and his family, my fingers are crossed it happens sometime in the future. I am impatiently awaiting book #13!

Comments? Let me know below 🙂

2 responses to “The King (Black Dagger Brotherhood #12)

  1. I’m with you on the culture clangers.. I think the series is established enough now to knock it off.

    I’m a hardcore Ward fan and I read this in one (very exhausting) sitting.. because who needs sleep?!

    I was worried at first that this was going to be the last book in the series.. it certainly feels like it could be, if she wanted it to be, you know? It’s very Happy Ever After, true? 😉

    Great post!

    • 🙂 Yeah it definitely wouldn’t be a bad way to end the series, but I am greedy and want more! Thanks for commenting !

Leave a Reply

