Dead Ever After (Sookie Stackhouse #13)

/

It’s the end of the road for the Sookie Stackhouse series and I have to say that I’m a little underwhelmed .

I’m OK with how it ended in terms of Sookie finally “choosing”  a guy, but I felt like so much was left unanswered in terms of her relationship with Eric. He kind of made very short appearances in the book that lead to nowhere. He has to marry someone else because his maker says so, so he unmarries Sookie in public, although he loves her. He bans Sam from seeing her and is never heard from again. It all feels so unresolved. There was no heart to heart conversation, and I don’t count the “I-want-to-make-you-a vampire-but-you-wont-let-me” conversation to be that.

Was Harris making the point that vampires are really cold unfeeling creatures that can’t really love? Was Eric never that into Sookie in the first place? That’s how I am left to feel in this book, and yet it’s so far from how their relationship was described throughout the series.

In the Dead Ever After, Sookie is being framed for the murder of a former friend and friends from her past rally behind her to help find out who.

Now that I think of it nothing ever came of the accusation in the book. Unless I’m totally forgetting something? But Sookie was accused, imprisoned, let out on bail and then the case was never spoken about again.

Reading this series as the television show began has been a bit confusing to say the least, but I was a fan of the book series from the beginning and I’m sad to see it go with what feels like a weak conclusion.

Maybe Charlaine Harris ended it this way to potentially revive the series in the future? Or perhaps this was just her vision. Either way I can’t say it was what I expected. It wasn’t bad but I just was left feeling like there is still so much more to be said.

What did you think of Dead Ever After? Let me know below!

2 responses to “Dead Ever After (Sookie Stackhouse #13)

  1. I think it went on too long. Really the book that Quinn ended up in was really where this downward slide started for me. I think Charlaine always knew who she wanted Sookie to end up with (and frankly, how people were surprised… I don’t know) but the last couple books were particularly horrible. Just no good writing. There’s supposed to be a plot. There’d be a mystery and then no one resolves it. All these mundane scenes where Sookie is cooking or shopping. BAH!

    • Yeah, I think it took this book for me too really notice it. It’s sad this is how it has to end! This was—and still is one of my favourite series’, not sure where Harris was going with this one.

Leave a Reply

