Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris

☆☆/

David Sedaris is back and he is as funny and overdramatic as ever. Be prepared to laugh (and be disgusted) at stories like the one about the hygiene practices he observes in China and  the hilarious journey of his first colonoscopy —who knew that could be funny!

I always go through David Sedaris books rather quickly. When I’m reading one of his books, I feel like I’m sitting down with a friend (who likes being the centre of attention) and catching up with all the things that’s happened in their life, since the last time I saw them.

If Hugh and I were denied extensions of our visas, we would have returned to Paris or New York, while they’d have gone back to, what? Beheadings? Clitoridectomies? What they had at stake was life-and-death. What we had at stake was Yorkshire pudding.

One of my favourite chapters in the book is called : Health-Care Freedoms and Why I Want My Country Back. It’s a fictional story about a homophobic mother and her gay son setting her up for a crafty fall. I was definately laughing pretty hard reading that one.

If you’re a Sedaris fan, or even if you aren’t, definitely pick this one up if you want a laugh.

Have you read it? Let me know below!

Leave a Reply

