The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1)


The Raven Boys tells the story of an array of characters on the search for a mysterious ley line — magical points of energy in the books location of Henrietta, Virginia.The line causes supernatural things to happen and has the potential to raise a once dead king to life, and with his awakening the chance of reward.

The book is told by the point of view of about 4 different characters, one being Blue Sargent, the daughter of a clairvoyant who has no physic ability of her own —though she does seem to be a battery for those with the gift. She can make a reading stronger, or any paranormal activity stronger it seems.

“Raven Boys,” is the nickname used for the boys that go to Aglionby, a private school for the rich and richer. There are four in focus in this YA story. There’s Gansey, (birth name Dick Gansey) a rich, smart and well-meaning boy who seems to hold his group of friends together in a father type roll.

  • Ronan Lynch who also comes from a wealthy family. He lost his father, has issues with his older brother and isn’t doing well in school—and takes it out on the world with a particularly sarcastic attitude.
  • There’s Noah Czerny, a mysteriously allusive boy who seems to pop up every now and then.
  • And then there’s Adam Parrish, the Aglionby boy without the blue blood. He’s at the school on a partial scholarship, has serious problems at home and is the first boy to notice and show interest in Blue.

The books has the standard love triangle in the making. Adam likes Blue. Blue likes Adam. The fact that they like each other kind of bother Gansey, who happens to have a lot in common with Blue, and in turn Blue may, or may not like Gansey. This whole love triangle may be stunted by the fact that every clairvoyant Blue has met ( including her mother and close friends) has said the first boy Blue kisses/ falls in love with will die. So it will be very interesting to see how things pan out (or if it’s all null and void since due to the books ending…).

This is the second Maggie Stiefvater series I’ve read, the first being her Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy.I have to say that it took me awhile to really get into this book. The relationship between the characters in her Mercy Falls trilogy was great, the chemistry, the storyline I was into it right away. It was depressing and very Romeo and Juliette-esque, but it still worked. I felt for the characters, I felt like I understood their motivations.

With the Raven Boys series it took me a long time to care about the characters or even understand why their need to find these ley lines was so detrimental. Pretty much the last few chapters really sucked me in, but beyond that it was hit or miss.I also felt like more information could have been explored, to give certain characters more depth. With Blue, she spoke about going to school, but we never see her there. She seems to have no other friends until she meets these boys and her work life is mentioned once. Just a little more background into certain characters worlds before would have been nice, a little look into their day to day lives.  I’m not saying I won’t be reading the next book in the series, I know I will— but I was left feeling a little “meh” about this book, which I am a little surprised at.

What did you think of The Raven Boys?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s