Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris

*Surprise! Sometimes I read books in other genres :)*

/

Sitting by the playground in the Luxembourg Gardens, I listened to Lolita, abridges with James Mason and unabridged with Jeremy Irons.  There were, I noticed, half a dozen other patsy, middle-aged men who liked to gather around the monkey bars, and together we formed a small but decidedly creepy community.

This is the second book I’ve read by David Sedaris, the first being When You Are Engulfed In Flames.

Me Talk Pretty One Day, is filled with short stories pulled directly from the ever-entertaining life of Sedaris. We read about his drug fueled college years, his menial jobs before becoming an author, his hilariously foul-mouthed brother and his strange but endearing father. I think the story I enjoyed the most was: I’ll Eat What He’s Wearing , about his father’s strange relationship with food. The weirdest story was the three-page chapter, entitled Big Boy, which was literally a story about someone’s bowl movement in an un-flushable toilet.

Overall I thought the book was good. It didn’t make me laugh as much as my first Sedaris read, but it did have its moments.

Following the shoot, she wore her bruises to the grocery store. Most people nervously looked away, but on the rare occasion someone would ask what happened, my sister would smile as possible, saying, “I’m in love. Can you believe it? I’m finally, totally in love, and I feel great.”

Leave a Reply

