The Devil’s Right Hand (Dante Valentine #3)

/

I took way to big of a break between this book and the last one so I kind of forgot things that happened in the last book. Anyways as I read, some of it came back to me and here is my review.

In the Devils Right Hand, Dante and Japhrimel are summoned by the devil to help him track down escaped demons from hell. Of course things are not that simple and while they search for the escapees, Dante starts to wonder if Japhrimel is as loyal of a boyfriend as she initially thought he was.

I enjoyed some aspects of the book. I liked the little twist with the identity of one of the demons as well as that demons connection to Dante. I didn’t however like the relationship aspect between Dante and Japhrimel.

To sum it up Dante is a needy person who needs constant reassurance and Japh is abusive. Those two qualities are a recipe for disaster, and the entire book is basically Dante talking about how much she loves Japh, but needs to leave—but she can’t leave him because he loves her. He just isn’t human so he isn’t sure about how to express that love.

He treats her like a child constantly keeping important information from her, then watches as she works herself up — he sees its driving her crazy but he is totally convinced he’s protecting her. A lot of their scenes were actually uncomfortable to read at certain points. Japh even got physical with her once, when he picks her up and shakes her to the point that she’s bruised. After he does it he says “It is for your own good, my curious. You will do as I say.”

In another scene Dante seems to realize that whats happening isn’t right:

Japhrimel still wasn’t done. “Be careful what you make of me.”
As if I was somehow responsible for him treating me like this. As if it was my fault.

I honestly don’t remember anything like this happening in the last book, but as I said I took a break between the two.

If I were playing devils advocate I could say the author meant to highlight this type of abusive relationship , and maybe in the next book Dante will grow from it. Or Japh will redeem himself. I could take the books POV that Japhrimel isn’t human so he doesn’t know what he’s doing. (He does says he loves her and he cries when they had their heart to heart after the incident) but still it just doesn’t sit right with me. I guess I will have to read the next book to see if there is some sort of lesson to be learned buy this behaviour —but honestly, after reading it, I was left with a bad taste in my mouth.

Thoughts? Comments? Let me know below 🙂

Leave a Reply

