Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter #2)

Harry Potter, Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley are back for another year of challenges at Hogwarts. As usual it’s an eventful year; Hermoine is petrified, Ron almost loses a sibling, and Harry faces he who must not be named for the third time in his short life.

Though I am only in the second book in the series the question that always goes through my mind when one of the kids are in danger is: where are the adults? Professors and parents always arrive when the dust settles, while the kids are fighting the monsters. But I get that if they did show up; it would defeat the purpose of the series.

There were quite a few things that happened in the books that I didn’t see in the film: The Weasley’s de-gnoming their garden, the fight between Lucius Malfoy and Mr. Weasley and The Deathday Party to name a few.

When it comes to characters, I particularly enjoyed reading about Gilderoy Lockhart. He was just so smarmy—more so in the book then in the film. I just found him so entertaining, you had to laugh at how delusional his character is.

On the other hand my distaste for the Malfoy’s continued to grow, as I saw in the first book there is way more that goes on between the Malfoy’s and the rest of the characters in the books, that just makes them so unlikable. In this book it’s also seems evident that Lucius is a follower of Voldemort when he slips his diary into Ginny’s class books.

I loved every page of the Chamber of Secrets, the world that Rowling created is very captivating and I am looking forward to reading book #3.

Comments? Questions? Let me know below 🙂

Leave a Reply

