Kiss the Dead (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #21)

☆.5/

I am so happy to be reading about Anita Blake again! I devoured the book in two days and now I don’t know what to do with myself. There are always complaints about Laurell K Hamilton using too much sex in her books, and this book had it’s fair share— but it’s LKH so it’s going to happen and if you blush easy, it’s probably best to read something else.

I can’t believe this is the 21st book in the series and I am just as big of a fan as I was when I read the first book. Whenever I read an installment in the series I feel like I’m checking in on someone I know, and it’s rare a series can make you feel like that.

In the world of characters like Sookie Stackhouse’s (who I love, don’t get me wrong!) and Elena Gilberts (I only know her from the show, not the books) it’s so refreshing reading about strong female characters who kick ass, and who can fight her own battles. Female characters are usually damsels in distress, or pawns in the middle of a love triangle. Anita has her insecurities, but when faced with a decision she always fights for herself and the one’s she loves—even when she gets shit about it at work.

Ok so I guess that’s enough fangirling! (A lie)

I loved the book. In Kiss The Dead Anita is working (as a Marshal) on a case where cops are killed by rouge vampires. There seems to be an influx of young vampires in the city who aren’t interested in being tied to a master vampire. They see any leader as a threat to their freedom and their old master thought it was a good idea to give them free will. Anita’s personal life gets mixed up in her work, when some of the vampires target her since she is tied to Jean Claude (master of the city) and think that getting rid of Anita will help them in their endgame.

Great book, Anita Fans will love it, I don’t know how much longer this series will go on but I hope LKH still a few more in her. The story lines are still fun and don’t feel like filler–which seems to happen to a lot of series when authors try to stretch them past their expiry date. I got my Nathaniel and Micah fix in this book hopefully their will be more Jean Claude in the next one!

Leave a Reply

